Cream Cheese Pancakes, or the Ghost of Mornings Yet to Come

Cream Cheese Pancakes 5

This week, it’s all about mornings. To begin on a completely recipe-unrelated note, someday I’m totally going to wake up my kids to this:

And if that doesn’t work, I’ll play this:

That ought to do the trick. Because if Mufasa pacing regally across the African savanna doesn’t get the kids out of bed, Darth Vader sure will. Disney and Star Wars, those are totally gonna be my educational values.

I mean, admit it, you cried when Mufasa died. And Bambi’s mom. That was traumatic. And don’t even get me started on Dumbo. I was a mess after Dumbo. And these are supposed to be kids’ movies. Kids’ movies! Look at me! I’m scarred for life.

But I digress. This all started with mornings. Mornings mean breakfast. Breakfast means pancakes.

Duh.

With my mixed-up heritage muddling up much of my life, in this I can say I am a true American: I love pancakes. Let me rephrase that: I adore pancakes. Pancakes are the ultimate breakfast food. They are perfect in so many different ways. But they have one major drawback: They do not, traditionally, include cheese.

Of course we needed to remedy that ASAP. It turns out, you can make pancakes with just cream cheese and eggs. Yes, that’s right. Cream cheese and eggs. Which, granted, is basically cheesecake in a pancake-disguise. Zorro mask and all (are you picturing that? I am). And tell me, dear friends, what more can you ask for?

True pancake lovers beware: These are not your traditional fluffy pancakes. These are wonderfully light and delicate. These are fairy pancakes. These are pancakes you will eat by the dozen, guilt free. I believe we have found paradise.

Cream Cheese Pancakes 4

Cream Cheese Pancakes

Servings: 3 or 4, depending on how much you love pancakes. 1 if you are me.

Prep time: 10 minutes.

You will need:

  • 120gr, or 4oz, cream cheese
  • 4 eggs
  • optional: sweetener of choice
  • optional: vanilla, cinnamon, ginger, or whatever you might like to try
  • optional: topping of choice, e.g. powdered sugar, maple syrup, etc

Cream Cheese Pancakes 1

Place all ingredients except the toppings in a bowl. Beat until fully incorporated. You will note this batter is very liquid compared to other pancake batters. Remember that it will spread out quite a bit in the pan, almost like a small crêpe.

Cream Cheese Pancakes 2

Heat up your pan or skillet with a drizzle of vegetable oil. Pour one or two tablespoons of the batter into your pan, and cook for a couple of minutes on one side. Carefully flip them over and cook for maybe one more minute. Repeat the process with the rest of the batter.

Serve with a light sprinkling of powdered sugar, as shown. Or drown them in maple syrup, as not shown, but definitely the way I ate them.

Enjoy!

Cream Cheese Pancakes 3

4 thoughts on “Cream Cheese Pancakes, or the Ghost of Mornings Yet to Come

  1. Pingback: Cookies and Cream Cheesecake Bites | May the cheese be with you

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Raspberry Mascarpone Pie | May the cheese be with you

  3. Pingback: Green Velvet Cheesecake Cake with Marshmallow Cream Cheese Frosting | May the cheese be with you

  4. Pingback: Cheesecake Filled Easter Eggs | May the cheese be with you

Leave a Reply

