Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche

Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche 2

A mi m’agrada la verdura. Sempre m’ha agradat. Quan tenia 6 mesos i em van començar a donar la papilla de cereals, li vaig dir a la meva mare que si volia, que se la mengés ella. Bé, tècnicament no li vaig dir, però suposo que amb una comunicació no verbal pseudotelepàtica (segurament li vaig escopir la papilla a la cara) va entendre que no me la pensava menjar pas, que, o em donava una llesca de pa amb tomàquet, o jo allò marronós i de textura inquietant no m’ho empassava. Però, en canvi, el puré de verdures em fascinava, era capaç de menjar-ne tant com me’n volguessin donar. Més tard, a l’escola, era l’única nena del menjador que volia repetir de primer plat els dies que hi havia mongetes tendres. Les cuineres flipaven, pobres. I de més gran, quan vaig començar a cuinar coses per mi mateixa, evidentment, vaig començar a fer plats amb verdura: una amanideta, que és fàcil de fer, verdura al vapor, unes verdures tallades a juliana al forn amb herbetes, cremes amb tot allò que trobava a la nevera… verdura en totes les formes possibles.

Ara que no vingui el típic graciós a dir: i no prefereixes una hamburguesa amb ceba caramelitzada i formatge, amb moltes patates fregides i amb molt de ketchup? Sí, és clar que sí. M’agrada la verdura però no sóc idiota.

Sovint dieu que no us agrada la verdura perquè no l’heu tastada en cap forma bona, només tristament bullida amb un raig d’oli, que convindrem que és una mica hardcore. Per això, avui m’he proposat convertir-vos en uns amants dels espinacs, verdura especialment verda i odiada, amb aquesta quiche, que és perfecta: d’entrada és bona només pel fet de ser una quiche, porta espinacs però el gust hi queda força camuflat, i porta formatge de cabra, que és com l’alegria de qualsevol plat. Ah, i bacon, que ja sabeu que tot sempre és millor amb bacon…

Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche Prep 6

Spinach-Bacon-Goat Cheese Quiche

Servings: 4-6

Prep time:  45 min

You will need:

  • 1/2 kg frozen spinach (or the equivalent amount of fresh leaves)
  • 150 g bacon, chopped
  • 100 g goat cheese, chopped (see the picture above to get a look at the one I used)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup milk (you can use cream, but I usually make a lighter version using milk)
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 100 g grated cheese (the type of cheese is up to you, I used a commercial gouda-cheddar mix which I personally love)
  • 1 sheet of pastry dough
  • some ground nutmeg (I’d say about 1/4 tsp or less, be careful, we don’t want a nutmeg-quiche!)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 180ºC. In a large pan thaw and cook the spinach for about 10 min with a splash of olive oil. They usually let go a lot of water, so the best course of action here is probably to place them in a strainer and press them down with a spoon so they release all the liquid. I’d post a picture, but you really don’t want to see the ugly, mushed up spinach leaves I have here. Scroll down a bit and check out the lovely, crispy bacon, which is so much more pleasing to the eye, and give our sad little spinach leaves some time to go from ugly duckling to cheese-swan. It’s like going through adolescence. Give them time. And cheese.

On a separate pan, cook the bacon until perfectly crispy. Now important: do not eat the bacon! Or at least, do not eat all the bacon. Or just make more bacon and eat that.

You can never have too much bacon.

Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche Prep 1

Sauté the drained spinach in the spinach pan with the butter, nutmeg, salt and pepper until coated in butter. You get the picture: Spinach, yeah, sure, but with butter and bacon. And cheese.

Meanwhile, beat the eggs in a large bowl and add the milk, grated cheese, spinach and bacon. Stir until combined.

Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche Prep 2Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche Prep 3Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche Prep 4

Line a 28cm pie mold with baking paper and press in te dough, making sure it covers all the edges of the mold. Now pour in the spinach-cheese-bacon-egg mix.

Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche Prep 5

Sprinkle the goat cheese over the top. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until the pastry is golden brown and the quiche is set.

Serve it hot straight out of the oven. Or warm. Or cooled. It’ll be delicious either way.

Enjoy!

Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche

6 thoughts on “Spinach-Bacon-Goat cheese Quiche

  1. La recepta sembla espectacular fins i tot quan no estic acostumat a menjar quiche. Queda apuntada!

  2. Pingback: Goat Cheese and Leek Pasta | May the cheese be with you

  3. Pingback: Caramelized Pear and Gorgonzola Quiche | May the cheese be with you

  4. Pingback: Broccoli Cheddar Soup | May the cheese be with you

Leave a Reply

